The Original MES

Starting new, without erasing the old..

  • Blog Stats

    • 37,279 people got lost on their way home

Shave your effin eyebrows?

Posted by ekkin on Wednesday, April 30, 2008

I am so fucking sick of public school systems. Yeah I know, it’s been over four years since the Hell commonly referred to as “high school”, but I read something today that took straight back to it and throughly pissed me off. Here’s the article:

PORTLAND, Ore. (AP) – A Portland high school is raising eyebrows with its brow grooming policy: shave ’em or go home.

Some students at Centennial High School have shaved vertical lines into their eyebrows in a trend recently made popular by hip-hop star Soulja Boy. School officials say the mark looks like a gang symbol.

Centennial administrators are telling students with the lines that they can’t return to school until they shave their eyebrows off. Assistant Principal Mark Porterfield said the students are not suspended, but they are not allowed in school until they cooperate.

Four students have been sent home. One returned with a bandage covering the shaved brow.

Police say gangs have co-opted the trend for their own use, with one gang’s members marking themselves by shaving one line into an eyebrow and three lines in the other to symbolize 13.

“We don’t dictate policy for any schools,” Officer David Schmidt of the East Multnomah County Gang Enforcement Team said. “We just tell them what we see the latest trends are. This is a way for them to identify each other. In a school setting, it intimidates other kids.”

Andy Gonzalez, a junior at Centennial with one vertical line shaved down his brow, was studying for a test when a security guard approached him and said, “If you’re going to come to school like that, don’t come at all.”

Gonzalez, 17, says he isn’t in a gang and shaved the lines to look cool and impress girls. But he says he’d be humiliated if he had to shave his brows off.

Centennial implemented the rules about the eyebrows after other area high schools did, but other schools say they only look for the markings of the 13 style.

Now, I am not going to put lines in my eyebrows to look “cool” but who in the Hell do they think they are to deny that to someone who wants to? Individuality is so constricted nowadays that I fear conformity will be entirely forced upon youths in public schools. It’s bullshit and no one should stand for it. I agree that they should try to look out for the gang signs, but not persecute every person that may have a form of the trend. It may mean something entirely different. You have to learn to LISTEN to these kids, and then maybe you won’t have to worry so much about gangs and troubled youth. Lay the blame where it fucking belongs. Anyway, my related story is something that happen to me in high school. My senior year, the first two weeks, I was sent to the Principal’s office 5 times for dress code violations. Was I wearing skimpy slut clothes? Belly shirts and mini skirts? No, I left that to the popular crowd, walking around like trash, but they never got in trouble. No, I was sent to the office because I was “punk”, different. The last one was almost the last straw, I almost quit school right there, say fuck it. My mother had to talk me out of it, but I made sure Mr. Grissom understood what I had to say first. I was wearing a Marilyn Manson shirt. Therefore I must worship the devil! He said my shirt offended people. Fuck them. This is what I listen to. I told him what if that cross on her shirt offends me, are you going to make her change? (I am Christian, I just use to listen to that kind of music. ) Of course not, because even though God isn’t allowed in school you are allowed to force a Christian based dress code upon me. Well, I refused to take the shirt off, though I did turn it inside out. Basically what they are teaching us today in schools is you can’t be an individual, you have to fit in or get the Hell out. You aren’t important enough to listen to, you have to be a rah rah cheerleader, etc to be heard. Well, here’s to all of the girls…. still enjoying our hometown? I’ll tip you next time you ring me up at the grocery store.

Leave a Reply

 
